Badges and Awards

The Scouting Programme is made up of a range of badges and awards for each section. There are different types of badges and awards as follows:

Activity Badges

Many of the badges available are activity badges and are specific to each section. These allow young people to develop existing skills and interests, but also to try new things and form new interests.

Staged Activity Badges

These badges are available to young people from Beavers to Explorers, and aim to provide an ongoing challenge through the sections.

Challenge Awards

These Awards support the main themes of the Programme; outdoor and adventure; world and skills. They require young people to take part in a range of activities to develop their skills and understanding in a specific area.

Core Badges

In addition, there are a number of special badges, obtained upon joining or moving on from the section, or for time spent in the Scouting Movement.

Occasional Badges

These are badges that celebrate a special occasion, camp, event or anniversary (for example, Cubs 100) and can be created locally.